Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in burgage holders

Number of voters:

about 70


17 Apr. 1754William Powlett
 Thomas Townshend
8 Mar. 1757George Jennings vice Powlett, deceased
31 Mar. 1761Thomas Townshend
 George Jennings
23 Dec. 1765Townshend re-elected after appointment to office
4 Dec. 1767Townshend re-elected after appointment to office
19 Mar. 1768Thomas Townshend
 Henry Wallop
10 Oct. 1774Thomas Townshend
 George Brodrick, Visct. Midleton
9 Sept. 1780Thomas Townshend