Appendix XI: Protestant Dissenting Members

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1690-1715, ed. D. Hayton, E. Cruickshanks, S. Handley, 2002
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Protestant Dissenting Members

The identification of Protestant Dissenters among the English and Welsh Members is hampered by deficiencies in the evidence, and the tendency of some Dissenters to attend their parish church, occasionally, in order to qualify themselves for office, or even on a regular basis. The more conservative Presbyterians, who had hoped for a comprehensive church settlement in 1689, continued to regard themselves as members of the Church of England, and saw no contradiction in attending both church and meeting house. Many were drifting into permanent conformity with the established church.


In a minority of cases, numbering 39 in all, there is unequivocal evidence of a continued attachment to a Dissenting congregation. These Members are listed below according to denomination, where known. The symbol ° denotes an occasional conformist; ‡ more consistent attendance at the Established Church (often presumed rather than documented).



Samuel Barnardistonº


Hugh Boscawen Iº


John Buller I‡


John Burridge I


Philip Foley


Thomas Foley I


Thomas Foley III‡


Sir Edward Harleyº/‡


Edward Harleyº/‡


Joshua Lomax


John Londonº


Sir William Lowtherº


Sir John Maynardº


Sir Robert Rich, 2nd Bt.º


Francis St. Johnº


Sir Walter St. John, 3rd Bt.º


John Swinfen (Swynfen)º


Richard Taylorº


William Trenchardº


John Whiteº


Thomas White II


Sir William Yorkeº




John Burton


Samuel Foote‡


Grey Neville


Thomas Owenº


Arthur Shallettº




Gregory Page




Edmund Waller


Unclassified (probably Presbyterian or Independent):


John Elwill


Sir Bartholomew Gracedieuº


William Harris


Thomas Lamplughº


Thomas Lascellesº


John Rogersº


Martin Ryderº


Sir John Thompson, 1st Bt.‡


Thomas Westbyº


Sir Walter Yonge, 3rd Bt.º


In a further 31 cases the evidence for Nonconformity is strong but not conclusive. These ‘probable’ Dissenters are listed below, again according to denomination where known, and with ‘occasional’ or more consistent conformity indicated by means of symbols.



Sir Edward Abneyº


Sir Thomas Abneyº


Sir Henry Ashurst, 1st Bt.º


Henry Ashurstº


Sir William Ashurstº


Sir John Carew, 3rd Bt‡


Sir John Fagg, 1st Bt.º


Richard Hampden Iº


Sir Henry Hoghton, 5th Bt.º


Samuel Ogleº


Joseph Paiceº


Philip Papillonº




George Boddingtonº




Sir Owen Buckinghamº




John Archdale


Unclassified (probably Presbyterian or Independent):


Richard Bekeº


Sir Thomas Pope Blount, 1st Bt.º


Robert Burridgeº


James Butler‡


Sir William Cowper, 2nd Bt.º


Richard Dukeº


Richard Ellysº


Thomas Fairfax, 5th Ld. Fairfax [S]º


Thomas Heath IIº


John Hopkinsº


Jonathan Hutchinsonº


Henry Probertº


Sir Charles Raleighº


Sir Thomas Roberts, 4th Bt‡


William Stockdaleº


John Thornhagh (Thornhaugh)‡


Ninety-six Members can only be classified as ‘possible’ Dissenters. Symbold are again employed to distinguish ‘occasional’ and regular conformists.



Richard Assheton (Ashton)º


Michael Biddulph‡


John Birch I‡


John Birch II‡


Hugh Boscawen II‡


Thomas Browne‡


John Dryden‡


Sir William Ellys, 2nd Bt.‡


Thomas Foley II‡


Henry Grey (formerly Neville)‡


Edward Irby‡


Sir William Langham‡


James Lowther‡


Sir Thomas Mompesson‡


Richard Neville‡


Arthur Owen II‡


Sir Hugh Owen, 2nd Bt.‡


Thomas Papillonº


John Phillipps‡


Richard Swinfen (Swynfen)‡


John Wildman‡




Bussy Mansel‡




Josiah Diston‡


Benjamin Overton‡




Sir Charles Wager‡


Unclassified (probably Presbyterian or Independent):


Sir Thomas Alston, 3rd Bt.‡


John Arnold‡


Ralph Bell‡


Edmund Boulter‡


Anthony Bowyer‡


Edward Brent‡


John Bright‡


William Brockman‡


John Bromley I‡


Edward Bullock‡


John Burridge II‡


Felix Calvert‡


Thomas Carr‡


John Cholmley‡


Awnsham Churchill‡


William Churchill‡


Thomas Clarke‡


Sir Robert Clayton‡


Sir John Cope, 5th Bt.‡


William Cowper‡


Thomas Ellys‡


John Eyles‡


Sir Henry Furnese‡


Nathaniel Gould‡


George Gregory‡


Thomas Guy‡


Sir Eliab Harvey‡


Michael Harvey‡


Gilbert Heathcote‡


Sir Roger Hill‡


John Lamotte Honywood‡


Owen Hughes


John Hutton I‡


Thomas Johnson+‡


Peter King‡


Daniel Lascelles‡


Nicholas Lechmere‡


Sir William Leman, 2nd Bt.‡


Thomas Lewes‡


Henry Liddell‡


John Michell I‡


Henry Mildmay‡


Richard More‡


Isaac Newton‡


Humphrey Nicoll‡


Archdale Palmer‡


Francis Pengelly‡


John Pershall‡


Sir Henry Pickering, 2nd Bt.‡


Alexander Pitfield‡


David Polhill‡


Sir Charles Pye, 2nd Bt.‡


Richard Pye I‡


Isaac Rebow‡


Sir Richard Reynell, 2nd Bt.‡


Thomas Ridge


Sir John Rogers, 2nd Bt.‡


Samuel Shepheard I‡


Bennet Sherard, 3rd Baron Sherard [I]‡


Robie Sherwin‡


Christopher Stockdale (formerly Walters)‡

  John Taylor‡

Thomas Tipping‡


Samuel Travers‡


Roger Tuckfield‡


Lionel Vane‡


Sir Thomas Webster, 1st Bt.‡


Walter White‡


Roger Whitley‡


Robert Wilmot‡


Robert Yate


It is possible to identify 34 Episcopalians among the Scots, that is to say Members who expressed an unambiguous sympathy for the Episcopalian cause, acted in Parliament to secure a legislative toleration for Episcopalians or to protect Episcopalian ministers, and in some cases, of which Sir Alexander Cumming, 1st Bt., would be one, used the ecclesiatical patronage at their disposal to find livings for Episcopalian clergy. With the single exception of William Livingston, who seems to have abandoned his Episcopalian allegiance and eventually to have conformed to the Presbyterian Church of Scotland, all appear consistently in this period as ‘dissenters’ in a Scottish context.


Sir Alexander Areskine (Erskine), 2nd Bt.


John Bruce


John Carnegie


Hon. William Cochrane


Sir Alexander Cumming, 1st Bt.


Alexander Duff


Hon. Sir James Dunbar (formerly Sutherland), 1st Bt.


Sir John Erskine (Areskine), 3rd Bt.


John Erskine


William Gordon, Ld. Haddo


Mungo Graham (Graeme)


William Grierson


Sir Peter Halkett (alias Wedderburn), 1st Bt.


James Halyburton (Haliburton)


Sir James Hamilton, 2nd Bt.


George Hamilton


William Livingston


Alexander Mackenzie


George Mackenzie


Hon. Sir Kenneth Mackenzie, 3rd Bt.


Sir John Malcolm, 1st Bt.


Alexander Murray


Lord James Murray


Hon. James Murray


James Oswald


Sir Hugh Paterson, 3rd Bt.


Sir Alexander Ramsay, 5th Bt.


Sir David Ramsay, 4th Bt.


Hugh Rose I


James Scott I


James Scott II


William Seton


Hon. John Stewart


George Yeaman

Ref Volumes: 1690-1715

Author: D. W. Hayton

End Notes