Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in the corporation

Number of voters:



19 Apr. 1754Lord Henry Beauclerk
 Charles Fitzroy Scudamore
12 Dec. 1754Herbert Westfaling vice Scudamore, chose to sit for Hereford
28 Mar. 1761Henry Seymour Conway
 Aubrey Beauclerk
23 Dec. 1765Conway re-elected after appointment to office
16 Mar. 1768Henry Seymour Conway
 John Drummond
6 Sept. 1774Charles Stanhope, Visct. Petersham, vice Drummond, deceased
10 Oct. 1774Charles Fitzroy
 Charles Fitzroy Scudamore
11 Sept. 1780Charles Fitzroy Scudamore
 Richard Hopkins
6 Apr. 1782George Henry Fitzroy, Earl of Euston, vice Scudamore, vacated his seat
6 Apr. 1783Hopkins re-elected after appointment to office
5 Apr. 1784Sir Charles Kent
 George Jennings

Main Article

Euston Hall, seat of the Dukes of Grafton, is four miles from Thetford, and during this period the borough was under Grafton’s control.

Author: John Brooke