Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in burgage holders

Number of voters:

about 270


18 Apr. 1754William Henry Kerr, Earl of Ancram
 John Yorke
14 Dec. 1757Thomas Yorke vice John Yorke, deceased
30 Mar. 1761William Henry Kerr, Earl of Ancram
 Sir Ralph Milbanke
16 Mar. 1763Thomas Dundas vice Ancram, vacated his seat
21 Mar. 1768Sir Lawrence Dundas
 Alexander Wedderburn
21 Nov. 1768William Norton vice Dundas, chose to sit for Edinburgh
26 May 1769Charles Crowle vice Wedderburn, vacated his seat
12 Oct. 1774Sir Lawrence Dundas
 Thomas Dundas
6 Jan. 1775Charles Dundas vice Thomas Dundas, chose to sit for Stirlinghshire
19 Dec. 1775William Norton vice Sir Thomas Dundas, chose to sit for Edinburgh
11 Sept. 1780Sir Lawrence Dundas
 James Graham, Marquess of Graham
9 Apr. 1781George Fitzwilliam vice Dundas, chose to sit for Edinburgh
5 Jan. 1784Graham re-elected after appointment to office
2 Apr. 1784Murrough O'Brien, Earl of Inchinquin
 Charles Dundas
7 Feb. 1786Sir Grey Cooper vice Dundas, vacated his seat

Main Article

In 1754 the families of Yorke and Darcy returned one Member each, but the Darcys, having purchased the burgages of the Wharton family, obtained the predominant interest, and in 1761 returned both Members. Sir Conyers Darcy bequeathed the manor of Aske and his burgages at Richmond to his nephew, the last Earl of Holdernesse, who, in 1762, sold them to Sir Lawrence Dundas.1 Henceforth the Dundas family had complete control of the borough.

Author: Sir Lewis Namier


  • 1. C. Clarkson, Hist. Antiq. Richmond, 122.