Double Member County

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Number of voters:

about 8,000


23 Apr. 1754James Smith Stanley, Lord Strange
 Peter Bold
14 Apr. 1761James Smith Stanley, Lord Strange
 James Shuttleworth
21 Dec. 1762Strange re-elected after appointment to office
5 Apr. 1768Lord Archibald Hamilton
 James Smith Stanley, Lord Strange
23 July 1771Charles William Molyneux, Visct. Molyneux, vice Strange, deceased
4 Feb. 1772Sir Thomas Egerton vice Hamilton, vacated his seat
11 Oct. 1774Edward Smith Stanley, Lord Stanley
 Sir Thomas Egerton
26 Mar. 1776Hon. Thomas Stanley vice Lord Stanley, called to the upper House
22 Feb. 1780Thomas Stanley vice Hon. Thomas Stanley, deceased
18 Sept. 1780Sir Thomas Egerton
 Thomas Stanley
13 Apr. 1784Thomas Stanley
 John Blackburne

Main Article

There were no contests for Lancashire during this period. One seat was always held by a Stanley (apart from the years 1771-4), and the other by a country gentleman.

Author: John Brooke