Caernarvon Boroughs


Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1715-1754, ed. R. Sedgwick, 1970
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in the freemen of Caernarvon, Conway, Criccieth, Nevin and Pwllheli

Number of voters:

about 1,600, including over 1,200 non-residents


8 Feb. 1715THOMAS WYNN 
6 Apr. 1722THOMAS WYNN1025
 William Price572
22 Aug. 1727THOMAS WYNN 
4 May 1734THOMAS WYNN 
11 May 1741THOMAS WYNN 
2 May 1749SIR WILLIAM WYNN vice Sir Thomas Wynn, deceased 

Main Article

By 1713 Thomas Wynn of Glynllivon, the leader of the local Whigs, had won control of the constituency from the Tory families by the mass creation of non-resident voters in the boroughs of Nevin and Pwllheli, after which the seat remained under Glynllivon dominance for over 70 years. The only challenge, in 1722, was instigated by William Owen of Brogyntyn, who had retaliated by admitting many non-resident voters in his borough of Criccieth. In 1724 Wynn control was consolidated by the acquisition of the constableship of Caernarvon castle, carrying with it the mayoralty of Caernarvon. Thenceforth Thomas Wynn professed to be anxious for a contest which would have enabled him, by a petition to the House of Commons, to have ‘destroyed the contributory boroughs, and fixed the right of returning Members in Caernarvon only’, thus making the borough hereditary in his own family.1

Author: Peter D.G. Thomas


  • 1. NLW, Brogyntyn mss 35, 1519; see P. D. G. Thomas, ‘Parl. Rep. Caern. 1708-49’, Trans Caern. Hist. Soc. (1958).