Appendix X: A 1552 list

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1509-1558, ed. S.T. Bindoff, 1982
Available from Boydell and Brewer

A 1552 list

The following 23 names are marked in a variety of ways on the copy of the Crown Office list in use for the last session of the Parliament of 1547. The deletions, annotations and amendments beside these names are written in several hands. The main purpose seems to have been to establish vacancies in the Membership which had occurred during the third and final prorogation (1550-2) of the Parliament without any steps having been taken until then to fill them, but the list was also put to other, and sometimes clearly later, uses. The markings on the list can be tabulated.

Deleted In Turrem Extra Regnum Mortuus Stet
Thomas Ardern××
Sir Thomas Arundell×
John Bassett II××
John Brende×××
(Sir) John Chichester×××
John Cotton1××
Sir Maurice Denys×××
(Sir) William Devereux××
William Layton××
(Sir) Richard Morison×××
Sir Nicholas Poyntz×××
Sir William Pickering×××
John Ryther××
David Seymour××
John Seymour II×××
Clement Smith××
(Sir) Michael Stanhope××
Thomas Stanley×
John Story××
John Sturgeon×
(Sir) John Thynne×××
Henry Williams××
Sir Anthony Wingfield××

Ref Volumes: 1509-1558

Author: S. T. Bindoff

End Notes

  • 1. See DONE, Gruffydd