Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in freeholders and leaseholders for life

Number of voters:

about 100


18 Apr. 1754Sir John Bland
 Thomas Hayward
21 Nov. 1755Henry Digby vice Bland, deceased
28 Mar. 1761Thomas Whatley
 John Paterson
21 Mar. 1768John Stewart, Lord Garlies
 Peniston Lamb
2 July 1768Garlies re-elected after appointment to office
5 Dec. 1772Garlies re-elected after appointment to office
22 Jan. 1774Whitshed Keene vice Garlies, become a peer of Scotland
11 Oct. 1774Penistone Lamb, Visct. Melbourne
 Lord George Gordon
12 Sept. 1780George Augustus Selwyn
 Penistone Lamb, Visct. Melbourne
3 Jan. 1784Selwyn re-elected after appointment to office
3 Apr. 1784George Augustus Selwyn
 Nathaniel William Wraxall

Main Article

Throughout this period Ludgershall was a pocket borough of the Selwyns of Matson, who owned the manor and a