Appendix XII: 'Civil servants'

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1690-1715, ed. D. Hayton, E. Cruickshanks, S. Handley, 2002
Available from Boydell and Brewer

‘Civil servants’

The following Members may be described as ‘civil servants’ in consideration of their professional career patterns and longevity of service in central government administration. All had risen through employment in one of the main offices of state, progressing gradually from humble to more exalted rank.


Joseph Addison

William Blathwayt

William Bridges

Josiah Burchett

Adam de Cardonnel

George Clarke

Kenrick Edisbury

John Ellis

Sir Stephen Fox

Thomas Hopkins

Erasmus Lewis

William Lowndes

Dennis Lyddell

Edward Pauncefort

John Povey

John Pulteney

Charles Sergison

Edward Southwell

Henry Watkins

Sir Joseph Williamson

Robert Yard

Ref Volumes: 1690-1715

Author: D. W. Hayton

End Notes