Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1386-1421, ed. J.S. Roskell, L. Clark, C. Rawcliffe., 1993
Available from Boydell and Brewer


1386Sewal Fraunceys
 John Honybrigge
1388 (Feb.)John Palmer I
 Edmund Ford
1388 (Sept.)William Shropshire
 Roger Skinner
1390 (Jan.)Richard Clewer
 William Rous
1390 (Nov.)
1391Hugh de la Lynde
 Nicholas Sambourn I
1393Hugh de la Lynde
 Thomas Ryton
1394John Touprest
 John Marsh I
1395Robert Draper
 John Marsh I
1397 (Jan.)Robert Aunger
 John Marsh I
1397 (Sept.)Hugh de la Lynde
 John Chaunceys
1399John Chaunceys
 John Whittocksmead
1402John Whittocksmead
 John Haygoby
1404 (Jan.)
1404 (Oct.)
1406Thomas Rymour
 Henry Bartlett
1407Henry Bartlett
 John Whittocksmead
1410Henry Bartlett
 John Whittocksmead
1413 (Feb.)
1413 (May)Richard Widcombe
 Roger Hobbes
1414 (Apr.)John Marsh II
 Walter Rich
1414 (Nov.)Richard Widcombe
 William Radstock
1416 (Mar.)
1416 (Oct.)
1417Ralph Hunt
 Walter Rich
1419Richard Widcombe
 John Marsh II
1420Richard Widcombe
 William Philipps
1421 (May)Richard Widcombe
 John Marsh II
1421 (Dec.)Walter Rich
 Robert Newlyn

Main Article

With an estimated population of 855 in 1377, Bath was smaller than its sister city of Wells and completely overshadowed by its neighbour, Bristol. A merchant guild had come into existence before Bath received its first royal charter in 1189. By 1230 a mayor had appeared. In 1256, a further charter gave the citizens the right of returning royal writs, of bequeathing their property by will, and of nominating coroners;1 and from 1341 they were also allowed to appoint their own local assessors and collectors of royal subsidies. By the middle years of the 15th century a mayor, bailiffs, cofferers, constables, aldermen and proctors, elected at the end of August or beginning of September each year, formed the municipal hierarchy.

Bath shared with Wells the distinction of being the cathedral town of the diocese. The charter granted by Edward I to Robert Burnell in 1275 finally settled the bishop’s rights in the city after long dispute, but episcopal overlordship of Bath and its suburbs, with the exception of the Barton, apparently had little effect on the city’s internal constitution. Moreover, the bishop’s income from courts, fairs and markets, supplemented by burgage rents payable by the mayor and commonalty, was comparatively small. The bishop’s influence might be exerted through his steward, who always presided over the hundred court held in the city, and matters such as the removal of the pillory and the change in a street name were referred to this official for approval, but the freeman’s oath was made to the mayor alone.2

A long dispute between the citizens and the prior of Bath during the period indicates the growing strength of the mayor and commonalty vis-à-vis both him and the bishop. By long-established custom the monks had rung the first bell in the morning and the last at night. Such superiority as this implied was challenged in August 1417 when Richard Widcombe, the mayor, Ralph Hunt and a number of other leading citizens proceeded to have bells rung in the city churches both earlier and later than those of the priory. The prior immediately appealed to the King who, by signed warrant from Caen, ordered the citizens to ‘cesse of al suche manere newe and wilfulle gouernance’. In an attempt to arbitrate, Bishop Bubwith and Sir Walter Hungerford* drew up a settlement in November following. This failed to address the issue to the satisfaction of the parties, and in August 1418 two royal judges, William Hankford and Robert Hill, were appointed to adjudicate. A jury at Frome in October 1420 rehearsed the details of the dispute, but three more years were to elapse before a final agreement was reached. This was produced by Bishop Bubwith as a compromise plan, but the claims of the citizens were nevertheless give due recognition.3

Neither bishop nor prior had any demonstrable influence over ordinary civic affairs or, judging by the identity of those Members returned in the period under review, on parliamentary elections. It is not known how these were carried out, though by the middle of the 16th century the choice was restricted to the ‘chamber’, comprised of the mayor, aldermen and council. During our period it became usual for the city to send a delegation of four individuals to the county court. Thus, for example, at Ilchester on 12 Nov. 1414 Ralph Hunt, the then mayor, and three others, ‘de assensu totius communitatis civitatis’, gave the sheriff the names of Richard Widcombe and William Radstock. It is not clear, however, whether these two had been previously elected in Bath, or whether the delegates were left to make the choice themselves when they arrived at the court.4

Twenty-eight men are known to have represented Bath in the 23 Parliaments for which returns survive between 1386 and 1421. Fifteen of them may have sat only once, and a further four just twice. On possibly six occasions the city’s Members were both novices, although the gaps in the returns (and there are as many as eight between 1399 and 1417) make it unlikely that the number was in reality so high. To four Parliaments Bath returned two representatives who had both sat in the Commons previously, and to 13 more a similarly experienced man accompanied an